Middle Elbe

Shortly behind the Saxony-Anhalt border is the biosphere reserve 'Elbe River Landscape'. It extends 400 km along the Elbe River to Lauenburg in Lower Saxony. Here you find the largest uninterrupted riverside forest region in Central Europe, which boasts a unique collection of flora and fauna.

Magdeburg welcomes you from afar with its monuments cathedral, the cloister Unsere Lieben Frauen" and the St. John's Church. These are witnesses of the great history of the state capital. Magdeburg also has modern elements, such as the Hundertwasser architecture project Grüne Zitadelle.

Important historic elements are also found in Altermark with its hundreds of Romanesque and Gothic churches. The former Hanseatic cities of Tangermünde, Stendal, Havelberg and Werben present their impressive cathedrals and powerful city gates.

But there's also plenty of nature. The 'Elbe River Valley Meadows and Prignitz are wonderful natural adventures. In the summer, the "Gevatter" stork with his red stockings, is a particularly beautiful site. Storks can be observed in huge numbers especially in the stork city of Europe, Rühstädt.

Mittelelbe

Kurz hinter der sachsen-anhaltischen Grenze beginnt das »Biosphärenreservat „Flusslandschaft Elbe“. Es erstreckt sich 400 km entlang der Elbe bis nach Lauenburg in Niedersachen. Hier gibt es die größten zusammenhängenden Auewald-Komplexe Mitteleuropas mit einer einzigartigen Flora und Fauna.

In Magdeburg grüßt das beeindruckende Ensemble aus Dom, Kloster „Unser Lieben Frauen“ und Johanniskirche die Ankommenden schon von weitem. Es kündet von der großen Geschichte der Landeshauptstadt. Magdeburg zeigt sich aber auch modern mit dem Hunderwasser-Architekturprojekt Grüne Zitadelle von Magdeburg.

Historisch bedeutsam geht es in der Altmark weiter mit hunderten romanischen und gotischen Kirchen. Die einstigen Hansestädte Tangermünde, Stendal, Havelberg und Werben präsentieren stolz imposante Dombauten und mächtige Stadttore.

Doch auch die Natur kommt nicht zu kurz. Die Elbtalauen in der Altmark und der Prignitz bieten herrliche Naturerlebnisse. Im Sommer macht besonders Gevatter Storch in seinen roten Strümpfen von sich reden. Zu bestaunen ist er in großer Zahl vor allem im storchenreichsten Dorf Europas, in Rühstädt.