Bicycle City Münster

 

The "most livable town in the world" winner of the the LivCom Award 2004, welcomes its guests with a charming mix of trends and tradition. In 1773 the first Westphalian University was founded. The origin of today's city of science with some 50,000 students. The Principal Market in the heart of Münster is the best place stroll and do some shopping. More than 30 museums beckon to you to come and discover art and culture and in Germany's bicycle city, there are plenty of green refuges – of course easily accessible by bike.

Fascination cityscape

Perhaps you too will succumb to the charms of this city while strolling beneath the beautiful arcades of the Principal Market in the city's center. And you are bound to come across the Peace Hall, important churches such as St. Lamberti and the powerful St. Paul Cathedral and Cathedral Square. Other vast structures are for instance the wonderful Baroque building by the architect Johann Conrad Schlaun, such as the hexagonal Clemens Church, the castle or the Erbdrostenhof.

Culture and entertainment

Münster offers various forms of world-class art such as at the Pablo Picasso Museum of Graphic Art since 2000 as well as the sculptures throughout Münster's city center – which had formerly been part of a recent international sculpture exhibition. Several theaters, museums, cinemas and concerts provide a versatile entertainment offering. Münster's city center also hosts several cultural events and festivals.

back to overview

Fahrradstadt Münster

Blick auf den Prinzipalmark in Münster

Die „lebenswerteste Stadt der Welt“, ausgezeichnet mit dem LivCom Award 2004, begrüßt ihre Gäste mit einem charmanten Mix aus Trends und Traditionen. 1773 entstand die erste westfälische Universität, die Keimzelle der heutigen Wissenschaftsstadt mit rund 50.000 Studierenden. Entlang des Prinzipalmarktes im Herzen Münsters lässt es sich bestens bummeln und einkaufen. Über 30 Museen laden ein, Kunst und Kultur zu entdecken, und in Deutschlands Fahrradhauptstadt findet man überall – natürlich per pedales – grüne Refugien.

Faszinierendes Stadtbild

Vielleicht stellt sich bei Ihnen ja auch Liebe auf den ersten Blick ein, wenn Sie unter den wunderschönen Arkaden des Prinzipalmarktes im Stadtkern flanieren. Wie nebenbei entdecken Sie den Friedenssaal, die bedeutenden Kirchen wie St. Lamberti und den mächtigen St. Paulus Dom mit Domplatz. Unübersehbar sind auch die herrlichen Barockbauten vom großen Baumeister Johann Conrad Schlaun, etwa die sechseckige Clemenskirche, das Schloss oder der Erbdrostenhof.

Kultur und Unterhaltung

Kunst von Weltrang bietet das im Jahre 2000 eröffnete Graphikmuseum Pablo Picasso genauso wie die vielen Skulpturen in Münsters Innenstadt – Zeugen der letzten internationalen Skulpturenausstellungen. Eine Vielzahl an Theatern, Museen, Kinos und Konzerten bringt Abwechslung in das Tages- und Nachtleben der Stadt. Münsters Innenstadt ist Ort vieler Kulturveranstaltungen und Feste.

zurück zur Übersicht