The Teutoburg Forest

The many sights of the Teutoburg Forest are evidence of its long history. The Hermann Monument at Detmold for instance commemorates the battle of Teutoburg Forest and its "hero", the Cheruscan ruler Arminius. There are also quite a number of lovely parks and monasteries along the route. But also the many historical city centers with buildings dating back to the Weser Renaissance and historical and cultural sights in the region. Westphalia's Culinarium in Nieheim lets bon vivants follow the footsteps of Westphalian taste: there are four museums dedicated to the five basic Westphalian staples: bread, cheese, ham, beer and schnapps.

At the end of the North Rhine-Westphalia leg, D3 reaches the Weser Hills and the River Weser. Yet another cultural highlight awaits you right next to Höxter with Corvey Castle and Monastery. After all, Corvey was once one of the most influential monasteries in Europe and today is currently being recommended to be added to the UNESCO World Heritage List.

D-Route 3 leaves Münsterland continues into the Teutoburger Forest. Relaxation, recreation and a lively history awaits you here, e.g. in Germany's largest open-air museum, at the Hermann Monument in Detmold or at the Monastery Marienmünster.

The final stage through Westphalia takes you across the Weser on your way to the historic Hanseatic city of Höxter. Medieval historic city centers and buildings dating back to the Weser Renaissance still shape the appearance of the region.

» Harsewinkel

Economic prosperity and rural charm make Harsewinkel an appealing location for families as well as for businesses.

more...

» Gütersloh

Gütersloh – city life in a rural setting, a modern city in the country with one of the most beautiful historic city centers in Westphalia...

more...

» Verl

A modern city that deep down is still a village, attractive business location and yet in the middle of the country: Life is good in Verle...

more...

» Horn - Bad Meinberg

Horn-Bad Meinberg with its 16 districts is situated in the natural preserve Teutoburg Forest / Eggegebirge...

 

more...

Route track downloads
The weather in the Teutoburg Forest
wetter.de Wetter-Widget
Wetterdaten werden geladen
Wetter Detmold www.wetter.de

Der Teutoburger Wald

Im Teutoburger Wald zeugen die vielen historischen Sehenswürdigkeiten von einer langen Geschichte. Das Hermannsdenkmal bei Detmold erinnert z. B. an die Schlacht am Teutoburger Wald und ihren „Helden“, den Cheruskerfürsten Arminius. Besuchenswert sind so manche herrliche Garten- und Klosteranlage entlang der Strecke. Aber auch die zahlreichen historischen Stadt- und Ortskerne mit Bauten aus der Weserrenaissance und kulturhistorischen Sehenswürdigkeiten sind einen Besuch im Teuto wert. Im Westfalen Culinarium in Nieheim können Genießer auf den Spuren des westfälischen Geschmacks wandeln: vier Museen widmen sich den fünf westfälischen Grundnahrungsmitteln Brot, Käse, Schinken, Bier und Schnaps.

Zum Ende der Teilstrecke Nordrhein-Westfalen erreicht der D3 dann das Weserbergland mit der Weser. Hier erwartet Sie mit dem Schloss und Kloster Corvey in unmittelbarer Nähe zu Höxter noch einmal ein kultureller Höhepunkt. Schließlich war Corvey mal eines der einflussreichsten Klöster Europas und steht heute auf der Vorschlagsliste zum UNESCO-Weltkulturerbe.

Die D-Route 3 verlässt das Münsterland und führt weiter in den Teutoburger Wald. Erholung, Freizeit und lebendige Geschichte erwarten Sie hier, zum Beispiel im größten Freilichtmuseum Deutschlands, am Hermannsdenkmal in Detmold oder in der Abtei Marienmünster.

Die letzte Etappe durch Westfalen führt Sie über die Weser auf dem Weg in die historische Hansestadt Höxter. Mittelalterliche Stadtkerne und Bauten aus der Weserrenaissance prägen noch heute das Gesicht der Region.

» Harsewinkel

Wirtschaftliche Prosperität und landschaftliche Idylle machen Harsewinkel sowohl für Familien als auch für Unternehmen zu einem attraktiven Standort.

mehr...

» Gütersloh

Gütersloh – das ist städtisches Leben in ländlicher Nachbarschaft und eine moderne Stadt im Grünen mit einem der schönsten historischen Stadtkerne in Westfalen...

mehr...

» Verl

Moderne Stadt, aber im Herzen ein Dorf geblieben, attraktiver Wirtschaftsstandort, und doch mitten im Grünen: In Verl lässt es sich gut leben...

mehr...

» Horn - Bad Meinberg

Horn-Bad Meinberg mit seinen 16 Ortsteilen liegt im Naturpark Teutoburger Wald / Eggegebirge...

 

mehr...

Routentracks zum Download
Wetter im Teutoburger Wald
wetter.de Wetter-Widget
Wetterdaten werden geladen
Wetter Detmold www.wetter.de