Harsewinkel

 

Harsewinkel with its districts Greffen and Marienfeld is located at the interface between Münsterland and Easter Westphalia. From a landscaping perspective it is embedded within the Münsterland park landscape, politically however it belongs to the municipality of Gütersloh.

Emsstadt with its 24,000 residents benefits from the strength of both regions: Economic prosperity and rural charm make them an appealing location for families as well as for businesses.

The three districts give Emsstadt is very own unique appeal. Whereas Harsewinkle is an urban center with a cozy provincial flair and houses the city council and central institutions, Marienfeld and Greffen have largely retained their rural character. Every third harvester bought in Europe was made here.

Peak season in Harsewinkel is all year round: Tradition and modernity are reflected in the some 500 events that take place every year: Schützenfests and jazz concerts by world-class musicians at the Farmhouse Jazzclub, organ concerts at the Marienfeld abbey church and craftwork at the Heimathaus, the legendary Spökenkiekerfahrt with vintage motorcycles in the spring and the top-notch motorcycle race at the Emstalstadion.

The late Romanesque abbey church of the former Cistercian monastery, the motorcycle and doll museum Beckmann, the Emstalstadion, the model aircraft airport Ikarus an der Ems and the nature reserve Hühnermoor are but some of the many sights.


back to the overview...

Harsewinkel

Der Flugmodellplatz Ikarus

Harsewinkel mit seinen Ortsteilen Greffen und Marienfeld liegt an der Schnittstelle von Münsterland und Ostwestfalen. Landschaftlich eingebettet in die münsterländische Parklandschaft, gehört es politisch zum Kreis Gütersloh.

Die 24.000 Einwohner zählende Emsstadt profitiert von den Stärken beider Regionen: Wirtschaftliche Prosperität und landschaftliche Idylle machen sie sowohl für Familien als auch für Unternehmen zu einem attraktiven Standort.

Die drei Ortsteile geben der Emsstadt ihre ganz eigene Prägung. Während Harsewinkel als urbanes Zentrum mit gemütlichem Kleinstadtflair Sitz der Stadtverwaltung und zentraler Einrichtungen ist, haben sich Marienfeld und Greffen ihren dörflichen Charakter weitgehend bewahrt. Jeder dritte in Europa verkaufte Mähdrescher stammt von hier.

Harsewinkel hat das ganze Jahr Saison: Tradition und Moderne spiegeln sich jedes Jahr in rund 500 Veranstaltungen: Schützenfeste und Auftritte von Jazzmusikern mit Weltruf im Farmhouse Jazzclub, Orgelkonzerte in der Marienfelder Abteikirche und Kleinkunst im Heimathaus, die legendäre Spökenkiekerfahrt der Motorrad-Oldtimer im Frühjahr und hochklassig besetzte Motorradrennen im Emstalstadion.

Die spätromanische Abteikirche des ehemaligen Zisterzienserklosters Marienfeld, das Motorrad- und Puppenmuseum Beckmann, das Emstalstadion, der Flugmodellplatz Ikarus an der Ems und das Naturschutzgebiet Hühnermoor, sind nur einige der zahlreichen Sehenswürdigkeiten.


zurück zur Übersicht...